6 Locations Across Wisconsin

No to Same-Sex Marriage in Wisconsin; 19 States Allow Same-Sex Marriage

by | Feb 18, 2015

Yesterday the Wisconsin Supreme Court declined to hear a petition brought by a same-sex couple seeking to strike down the State’s constitutional ban on gay marriage. A separate Federal lawsuit filed by eight same-sex couples remains pending in the Western District of Wisconsin in Madison. Nineteen states now allow same-sex marriage. These states include:

  • Massachusetts
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Iowa
  • Vermont
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Washington
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Rhode Island
  • Delaware
  • Minnesota
  • New Jersey
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania

Every state which does not allow same-sex marriage has pending litigation challenging the ban.

Written by Vanden Heuvel & Dineen, S.C.

Business Law

24 Hour Access

Related Articles